Skip to main content
a molecular model
Terry Vlisidis on Unsplash

Nobel Prize Laureate Morten Meldal

It has been 25 years since Denmark last won a Nobel Prize. This time it is Professor Morten Meldal from the Department of Chemistry at the University of Copenhagen who will go to Stockholm and receive the biggest and most prestigious award given. The 2022 Nobel Prize in Chemistry is shared this year between Morten Meldal, Carolyn R. Bertozzi and K. Barry Sharpless for the discovery of click chemistry and bioorthogonal chemistry.

Science Journalist Jens Degett from Science Stories asks questions about the new type of chemical reactions that have become widespread in both research and industry over the past 20 years. Morten Meldal explains the background to his research, which led to the exciting results and, along the way, he talks about his vision for teaching chemistry to the younger generations, about research conditions and what can be done to strengthen Danish research.

Follow Science Stories on: Apple PodcastSoundCloudSpotifySpreakerGoogle PodcastsPodimoTwitter and Instagram.

Read about all the 2022 Nobel Prize laureates.